The Winter Goddess: A Poem by Bonny St. John, Co-Author of The Ruthless Court

13/02/2012 at 4:33 pm (Uncategorized)


As Autumn and Winter combined to make up my favourite time of the year, I first wrote an allegorical poem called The Winter Goddess in 2004. However I lost it and an entire folder of my other poems in a computing accident caused by my then computer illiteracy. So, using the same thoughts which fill my mind whenever I look out on the beautiful Winter landscape I’ve written another poem dedicated to this exquisite lady. If you wonder about the meaning behind the collection of words, I suggest that you stand at your window and look out as you read them. Better yet, do so at dawn!

The Winter Goddess

Arms outstretched in soulful supplication,

Naked, bathed in translucent mists of time,

She summons, with Ageless invocation,

 Her faithful Maids to dance in ceaseless rhyme.

Anew they do her sway foretell in replay

Of seasoned acts of magic stage by stage:

Child, Muse and Sage, in chic and shabby foray,

Her virgin core restore Age after Age.

Bold, guileless Goddess, She unclasps my soul

From Adam’s pathos and Heaven’s promise,

Then we entwined with fleeing Time extol

Dawn’s sundry whores, kaleidoscopes of bliss.

They keep me when by order She must rove;

And roving fast sustains Her in my love.

By

Bonny St John

Copyright © 2012

All Rights Reserved. No part of this poem may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording or by any information storage and retrieval system without written permission from the author, except for the inclusion of  brief quotations in a review.

Leave a Reply

